Our history
Snapshot of the past - Drouin's Elm Trees

A photograph capturing the row of elms along Drouin's main street in the early 1900s.
It also shows shops to the north.
The elms were planted to beautify the town. Early photographs indicate the elms were likely planted in about 1894.
The long row of trees originally extended all the way along "Old Gippsland Rd", which became the Princes Hwy, from Christ Church to Main South Rd.
Photographs from the 1930s and the 1944 collection show they were growing well and very much part of the town's landscape.
Sadly, at some stage in Drouin's history, most of these English trees were removed. Today only four remain facing Princes Way on the north side of Memorial Park.
Those left are not huge specimens but have green "domes" and large canopies, providing shade for those waiting for a bus, walking along Princes Way or visiting Memorial Park.
Their burst of flowers in spring before the emergence of the elm helicopters (winged seeds) and leaf unfurl is always special.
They are still a notable landmark in Drouin's townscape.
Photograph and information courtesy Stories of Drouin, a cooperative oral history project between The Committee for Drouin, Drouin History Group and 3BBR FM to preserve local stories.
To learn more stories of Drouin's trees, listen to "If Only the Trees Could Talk" at www.storiesofdrouin.com.au

Subscribe to The Warragul and Drouin Gazette to read the full story.