Longwarry break 51-year senior football premiership drought in EDFL

Celebrating their senior premiership are (back)Ben Cuckson (obscured), Anthony Salce, coach Daniel Fry (obscured), Jedd Serong, Braydon McHugh; (centre) Andrew Knights, Kane Oldham, Troy Lehman, Danny Wells, captain Nathan Fry; (front) Russell Lehman, Tye Holland, Leigh McDonald, Nick Walsh, Cole Cook, Aaron Serong, Jake Serong, Justin McCleary, assistant coach Glenn Pask; (ground) Cory Lenders, Nick Redley and Riley Rundell.

Longwarry broke a 51-year premiership drought on Saturday, claiming victory over the Ellinbank Eagles by 39 points. Ellinbank led by a hair in the first term, but Longwarry had asserted their dominance by the second term and the Eagles began

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Sport

Rundell lifts Crows

Longwarry’s Danny Wells comes in to stop Nyora’s Chris Hodges as he handpasses the ball away.

An inspirational left foot checkside from the pocket by Longwarry’s Riley Rundell helped give the Crows the lift they needed to overcome reigning premier Nyora by just two-points, 10-7 (67) to 9-11 (65). While the Crows hit the front late

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Sport

Longwarry impress 1968 heroes

Past players Ray Serong, Joe Prout, Michael Stephens and Kevin Stephens join Longwarry Football Club president Steven Tuite to celebrate the club’s history during its match against Nilma-Darnum.

Longwarry consolidated its position in the top five with a big win over Nilma-Darnum, 24-17 (161) to 5-6 (36). Playing in front of its 1968 premiership heroes and no doubt looking to repeat that history some 50 years on, the

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Sport

Knights recalls 1968 flag

A reunion will celebrate 50 years since Longwarry claimed the 1968 premiership – it’s last senior premiership.  The team included (back, from left) N. Taylor, R. Walton, R. Hough, A. Prout (vice captain), P. Oakes, W. I’Anson, J. Irwin, (centre, from left) Roy Ford (secretary), D. Anderson (manager), R. Christie, E. Denovan, P. Knights, J. Cook, G. Thomas, K. Watson (trainer) and R. Knights (president), (front, from left) R. Irwin, M. Johnson, R. Proctor, E. Guy (captain-coach), Ron Serong, B. Toy and (seated) mascot Wayne Serong.  Absent was R. Smith and F. Brasier (head trainer).

A mix of youth and experience, demanding trainings and an “Ironman” leader saw Longwarry claim the 1968 premiership, according to player and VFL/AFL legend Peter Knights. The “Blues”, as they were then known, came into the 1968 with a point

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in News

    To read the full article, get the Gazette newspaper each week in print
    from all good newsagents and convenience stores
    or in digital format here

    If you have subscribed to the digital format --- login here

    Real Estate Lift Out