Unique umpire celebration

Taking to the field in the senior Ellinbank District Football League match between Poowong and Lang Lang to celebrate the 60th birthday of Gippsland Umpires Association are (back row, from left) John Brookes, Geoff Legge, Bruce Pratt, Trevor Hobson, Peter Heywood, (front, from left) Riley Feil, Mervyn Pentland, Jeff Bell, Tom Morrison and Bill Ross.

It was a unique and fitting celebration for Gippsland Umpires Association’s 60th birthday when nine of the umpiring panel’s elder statesmen took charge of the senior match at Poowong on Saturday. Appointed umpires Peter Heywood, John Brookes and Trevor Hobson,

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Sport

Longwarry impress 1968 heroes

Past players Ray Serong, Joe Prout, Michael Stephens and Kevin Stephens join Longwarry Football Club president Steven Tuite to celebrate the club’s history during its match against Nilma-Darnum.

Longwarry consolidated its position in the top five with a big win over Nilma-Darnum, 24-17 (161) to 5-6 (36). Playing in front of its 1968 premiership heroes and no doubt looking to repeat that history some 50 years on, the

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Sport

Umpire collapses

A defibrillator on hand at Poowong Recreation Reserve was used after umpire Danny Burke suffered a heart attack on Saturday.

Nilma-Darnum club umpire Danny Burke was taken by aerial ambulance to Melbourne on Saturday afternoon after suffering a heart attack during the Ellinbank and District Football League reserves’ match at Poowong. Burke left the field after feeling ill and collapsed

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Sport

EDFL sign agreement

Warragul Industrials player River Ford breaks clear from his Catani opponent in the 2017 grand final of the Ellinbank and District Football League.  The EDFL has joined AFL Gippsland’s Regional Administration Centre.

The Ellinbank District Football League has joined AFL Gippsland’s Regional Administration Centre. EDFL general manager Ken Moore said while it had been a work in progress, a service agreement had been signed off last Tuesday. “It was always going to

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in News

Catani are premiers

With master coach Paul Alger back at the helm, the Blues broke through for their fourth premiership in the EDFL, denying the Warragul Industrials who couldn’t break their 21-year premiership drought.  Catani’s Nicholas Visser won the medal for best player on the ground. Other players to help the Blues to the premiership were Owen Fitzpatrick, Paul Pattison, Mitchell Davey, Brett Williams, Dylan Williams, Aiden Cuff, Dale Johnson, John Alexander, James Alexander, Hayden Lownds, Ryan Eaton, Brandon Scammell, Cody Banbury, captain Nathaniel Rodda, Antonio Benvenuto, Luke McFarlane, Thomas Van Diemen, Brayden Kennedy, Wade Haysom and Tim Lonsdale.

Catani held on to win its first Ellinbank District Football League premiership since going back-to-back in 2005. With the Industrials kicking to the scoring end in the final term, the Blues withstood a late charge to hold on to win

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in News

    To read the full article, get the Gazette newspaper each week in print
    from all good newsagents and convenience stores
    or in digital format here

    If you have subscribed to the digital format --- login here

    Real Estate Lift Out